Sunday April 15, 2018
LEICESTER bid to launch their Premiership season once more as they face Somerset at the Paul Chapman & Sons Arena on Monday (7.30pm).

The Watling JCB Lions have been unable to complete a meeting since a narrow Challenge match win over the Rebels three weeks ago, with the weather causing headaches across the sport.

The Lions’ management now have headaches of a different kind, with Slovakian star Martin Vaculik suffering a broken ankle in the aborted attempt to race at Swindon last Thursday.

Club bosses have booked the spectacular Robert Lambert, who has a good record when racing at Leicester, to guest for Vaculik – whilst the rider-replacement facility is in operation for Michael Palm Toft, who also suffered an ankle injury in the same incident, albeit not as serious.

Palm Toft’s rides can be taken by Krystian Pieszczek, who enjoyed a terrific home debut last month, and reserve duo Kyle Newman and James Sarjeant.

Somerset had their own injury scare last weekend when World Champion Jason Doyle was involved in a horror crash in Poland, but the Australian thankfully emerged with no major damage and is set to lead the Rebels on Monday.

It will also be the first league match of the season for the Oaktree Arena side, who were defeated in all three of their trips to the East Midlands last season, although two of them proved to be close contests.

Lions skipper Danny King said: “It’s been such a frustrating start to the season, especially with what happened at Swindon, and now we just want to finally get our season underway.

“Somerset ran us close here last month so again we know it’s not going to be an easy meeting.

“With the fixed race-nights this year it’s sometimes going to be difficult to get guests as well, but I’m sure when we know the full extent of Martin’s injury the management will be looking at their options.”

LEICESTER: Robert Lambert, Michael Palm Toft R/R, Danny King, Krystian Pieszczek, Hans Andersen, James Sarjeant, Kyle Newman.
SOMERSET: Jason Doyle, Jake Allen, Charles Wright, Jack Holder, Richard Lawson, Jonas Jeppesen, Bradley Wilson-Dean.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter