Monday May 14, 2018
KYLE Newman reckons home advantage can provide the key to finally unlocking a coveted place in the British Final.

The Leicester Lions charger competes on home shale on Tuesday (7.30) bidding for a top-eight berth that would seal a spot in the national showpiece.

Dorset-based Newman claimed two points as a reserve back in 2013 but the closest he came to qualifying outright was in last year’s semi-final, finishing two points short of making the cut shortly after a long-term injury.

And that, alongside the benefit of competing at his home circuit, has whet his appetite for success.

“I am keen to do well, it has been a bit of a bogey meeting for me in the past so I am out to break my duck and get through,” said Newman.

“A few years ago, I went in as a reserve but that has been it as far as the British Final goes. It is a great meeting and most definitely a target of mine to reach this year.

“To be honest I didn’t expect to do a lot last year, it was only my second meeting after my shoulder injury and I knew I would be rusty and raw.

“I had no practice to speak of, it was just a case of getting on the bike and going so I was glad to be in contention and I feel like I should go one better this time.”

Newman will not have an easy ride, though, facing multiple British champions Scott Nicholls and Chris Harris as well as the likes of Adam Ellis, Richie Worrall, Ben Barker and Richard Lawson.

Fellow Lion and 2016 champion Danny King, recently sidelined through injury, is set to attempt a practice to gauge his fitness ahead of the clash.

Each of the 16 riders will take part in five races with the top eight joining reigning champion Craig Cook, Jason Garrity, Kyle Howarth, Josh Auty, Edward Kennett, Robert Lambert, Rory Schlein and Dan Bewley in the British Final at the National Speedway Stadium, Belle Vue on Monday, June 11.

*To read the full interview with Newman, pick up your copy of the British semi-final programme at the track for just £3.

BRITISH SEMI-FINAL 2, Leicester, 7.30:
1. Lewis Kerr, 2. Scott Nicholls, 3. Simon Lambert, 4. Adam Ellis, 5. David Howe, 6. Ben Morley, 7. Chris Harris, 8. James Shanes, 9. Richie Worrall, 10. Ashley Morris, 11. Kyle Newman, 12. Paul Starke, 13. Matt Williamson, 14. Ben Barker, 15. Richard Lawson, 16. Danny King.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter