Wednesday May 16, 2018
LEICESTER take a much-changed team to King's Lynn tonight (Wednesday) for the second leg of their KO Cup quarter-final.

The Watling JCB Lions hold a six-point lead from last week's first leg, but will be without star Danish pair Kenneth Bjerre and Hans Andersen at the Adrian Flux Arena.

Both riders are required to race in their homeland, with Stars duo Niels-Kristian Iversen and Michael Palm Toft absent from this re-arranged fixture for the same reason.

And Andersen says he will still be keeping his eyes on the prize despite being forced to miss the meeting.

He said: "With a six-point lead we had to book a decent replacement because King's Lynn have strength at home and we need big points.

"It is unfortunate I cannot be there but these things happen. It is one of the few I will miss this season but I will be looking out for the result hoping we can get through.

"Kenneth is missing too, it can be difficult without your top two performers and it will be a very tough meeting.

"Hopefully I can finish my Danish meeting, follow the updates and see we have done enough because we want to push for silverware."

Leicester have drafted in in-form Wolverhampton man Rory Schlein to guest at No.1 on his old home track, whilst Ricky Wells also stands in for the second time in the tie.

But they are also awaiting news on skipper Danny King, who booked his British Final place via Tuesday's semi at the Paul Chapman & Sons Arena but withdrew before the end of the meeting as he was still clearly in discomfort from his arm injury.

Meanwhile Krystian Pieszczek has happy memories of his last trip to the Norfolk venue, as he was the impressive winner of the first round of the World Under-21 Final series there just under two years ago.

The Pole dropped his only point in seven outings to current Stars captain Robert Lambert, but got the better of the British Under-21 Champion in the Final.

KING'S LYNN: Niels-Kristian Iversen R/R, Josh Auty, Ty Proctor, Thomas Jorgensen, Robert Lambert, Kasper Andersen, Lewis Kerr.

LEICESTER: Rory Schlein, Kyle Newman, Ricky Wells, Danny King (TBC), Krystian Pieszczek, James Sarjeant, Todd Kurtz.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter