Wednesday July 18, 2018
LEICESTER Speedway have made sweeping changes in a bid to keep their play-off dream alive.

British icon Scott Nicholls is the headline signing, joining the club from Rye House.

Former Grand Prix ace Nicholls is a solid performer at the Paul Chapman and Sons Arena and takes the place of Dane Kenneth Bjerre who has been released by the club.

Josh Auty, who is currently in the best form of his career, has also been brought in as a replacement for Pole Krystian Pieszczek who has also been freed by the club.

And reserve pairing James Sarjeant and Todd Kurtz have also left the Watling JCB Lions with immediate effect to be replaced by Hinckley-based Stuart Robson and youngster Connor Mountain.

Club co-promoter Neil Machin said: "It is never easy releasing riders but it was a general feeling within the club that something had to be done.

"We would like to thank the four lads leaving the club for their efforts on our behalf and wish them well for the future.

"In the meantime we are delighted to welcome Scott. He's been a wonderful servant to the sport and is still a class act in the Premiership.

"Josh is riding brilliantly and he chose us ahead of another club to join us, he's riding the best he has done for years.

"Robbo is local to Leicester and we're certain he will do a good job for us and Connor has experience of the Leicester track and is keen to do well for us.

"It's major change for the club but we hope the supporters embrace it and we need to go on a winning run."

The four riders will make their debut at Swindon on Monday in a vital Premiership meeting which will be shown live by BT Sport.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter