Tuesday July 24, 2018
LEICESTER face a tough away trip to improving Poole in the Premiership on Wednesday (7.30pm).

The Pirates won at the Paul Chapman & Sons Arena in a last-heat decider earlier in the month and added a point from a narrow 46-44 defeat at King’s Lynn on Monday, when they led until the closing stages
They were also convincing winners over Belle Vue in their last home outing, and have since strengthened with the signing of Great Britain star Chris Harris as a replacement for Linus Sundstrom.

The Pirates also retain the potent weapon of Nicolai Klindt at reserve, and the Dane will continue to occupy the No.7 berth when the sides meet again the East Midlands on Monday.

It will be the Lions’ first appearance of the season at the Dorset venue, although they did arrive at the track in late May only for the meeting to be called off due to track conditions.

Since then, though, there have been wholesale changes to the team with the new-look line-up going down 39-51 at Swindon on Monday having been only four points adrift with three heats to go.

Skipper Hans Andersen is a former Poole rider having spent three spells with the Pirates, including recently in 2016-17, and new signing Scott Nicholls also spent time with Poole in the early part of his top-flight career.

Nicholls, Stuart Robson and Ricky Wells were all part of a Rye House team which romped to a remarkable 60-30 win at Wimborne Road last August, whilst this season Nicholls picked up 13+1 from five rides in a now-expunged trip to Dorset.

Leicester boss Simon Stead said: “I do think we are a stronger team now, and we have something to build on from Monday night.

“We have four new riders gelling into the side and once they get settled in I expect to see some improved performances and results.

“Poole away is a tough one for us, there’s no doubt about that, and the home fixture against them next Monday is a very important meeting as well.”

POOLE: Brady Kurtz, Josh Grajczonek, Kacper Woryna, Richie Worrall, Chris Harris, Fredrik Jakobsen, Nicolai Klindt.
LEICESTER: Hans Andersen, Charles Wright, Josh Auty, Ricky Wells, Scott Nicholls, Connor Mountain, Stuart Robson.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter