Monday August 27, 2018
LEICESTER co-chief Neil Machin labelled King’s Lynn ‘a wonderful team’ after seeing them beat his side 50-40 in an entertaining Bank Holiday clash at the Paul Chapman and Sons Arena, Beaumont Park.

And Machin went on to tip the Stars for glory in the Premiership title race.

Brilliant British youngster Robert Lambert - linked with a move to Leicester in the winter - showed his class with a solid 11-points for the visitors but it was their superior all-round strength which won the day.

Watling JCB Lions skipper Hans Andersen staged a late rally for the home side with two fine wins in Heats 13 and 15 but it was all too late.

Lions guest Nikolaj Busk Jakobsen, in for the injured Josh Auty, was stunning to help Leicester with two wins from the gate in three heats and Lions took a 14-10 lead.

But Robert Lambert broke the track record in Heat 5 when he led Erik Riss home in Heat 5 to draw King’s Lynn level.

And when reserve Michael Palm Toft was joined by Niels Kristian-Iversen in the next Stars went 20-16 up - and they never looked back!

Said Machin: “I take my hat off to King’s Lynn, I thought they were magnificent.

“That’s the best King’s Lynn side I’ve seen for a number of years and we were simply beaten by the better team so we can have no complaints.

“I cannot fault the effort of anyone at the club - the owners, the manager and the riders. They have put their all into this season.

“But I think we have been beaten by potential league champions and I wish them well in the play-offs.”

Leicester boss Simon Stead threw Scott Nicholls in as a tactical substitution in Heat 10 - but King’s Lynn were unstoppable at this stage and Proctor and Jorgensen trapped to deny him and skipper Andersen.

Leicester are back on home shale next Monday, September 3, against Somerset in the final home league meeting of the season.

LEICESTER 40: Nikolaj Busk Jakobsen 14, Hans Andersen 10, Charles Wright 5+1, Scott Nicholls 4+1, Connor Mountain 3+1, Stuart Robson 3, Ricky Wells 1.

KING’S LYNN 50: Robert Lambert 11, Erik Riss 10+2, Thomas Jorgensen 10+1, Niels-Kristian Iversen 6+2, Michael Palm Toft 6+1, Ty Proctor 6, Simon Lambert 1.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter