Sunday June 23, 2019
LEICESTER boss Stewart Dickson praised the club’s travelling supporters after a disappointing day at the Championship Fours.

A large contingent turned out in force at Peterborough to get behind the Watling JCB Lions who were knocked out at the Semi-Final stage.
Leicester totalled 12-points in the qualifying round and managed just one race win from eight outings.
The meeting was won by Somerset and Dickson admits nobody could have any complaints.
“We just weren’t good enough on the day to qualify for the final and that’s it,” Dickson said.
“Even with the point we’d have got when Josh (Bates) shed a chain, that would’ve still only put us on 13-points and that still wouldn’t have been enough.
“We can’t have any complaints and take nothing away from the teams that did qualify for the final because they were the best four teams.
“I do wish we could’ve made it for the large number of supporters that travelled to back the team - they were fantastic yet again.
“But it hasn’t been the worst weekend in the world with qualifying for the Championship Shield Final and there’s still plenty more to look forward to - these are still exciting times for Leicester Speedway.”
The Lions now prepare for a busy weekend of racing with three meetings in as many days. They travel to Redcar on Friday before hosting the Bears at the Paul Chapman and Sons Arena on Saturday (7.30). They then head to Eastbourne for the first leg of their Knockout Cup tie on Sunday (3.30).
EASTBOURNE 15: Edward Kennett 6, Lewis Kerr 6, Richard Lawson 2, Kyle Newman 1.
GLASGOW 15: Rasmus Jensen 6, Paul Starke 5, Craig Cook 3, Claus Vissing 1.
SHEFFIELD 15: Ty Proctor 6, Danny King 4, Kyle Howarth 3, Drew Kemp 1, Broc Nicol (res) 1.
SOMERSET 14: Chris Harris 6, Nico Covatti 4, Rory Schlein 3, Todd Kurtz 1.
EDINBURGH 13: Cameron Heeps 5, Joel Andersson 5, Victor Palovaara 2, Ricky Wells 1.
LEICESTER 12: Richie Worrall 4, Ryan Douglas 4, Scott Nicholls 2, Josh Bates 2.
NEWCASTLE 11: Steve Worrall 5, Thomas Jorgensen 4, Matt Wethers 2, Lasse Bjerre 0.
REDCAR 10: Charles Wright 5, Michael Palm Toft 4, Jordan Stewart 1, Tom Bacon 0, Nathan Greaves (res) 0.
SCUNTHORPE 10: Danny Ayres 3, Josh Auty 3, Stefan Nielsen 2, Jake Allen 2.
BERWICK 9: Kevin Doolan 3, Aaron Summers 2, Nikolaj Busk Jakobsen 2, Coty Garcia (res) 2, Jye Etheridge 0.
BIRMINGHAM 8: Tero Aarnio 4, Adam Ellis 3, Connor Coles 1, Joe Lawlor 0.

SOMERSET 22: Nico Covatti 8, Chris Harris 7, Rory Schlein 6, Todd Kurtz 1.
SHEFFIELD 19: Danny King 7, Kyle Howarth 4, Ty Proctor 4, Broc Nicol (res) 4, Drew Kemp 0.
GLASGOW 19: Craig Cook 9, Rasmus Jensen 5, Paul Starke 4, Claus Vissing 1.
EASTBOURNE 12: Richard Lawson 6, Edward Kennett 4, Lewis Kerr 2, Kyle Newman 0.
Run-off for 2nd: King (Sheffield) beat Cook (Glasgow).

Share This:   Facebook Twitter