Saturday September 07, 2019
LEICESTER keep up their push for National League leadership ahead of the play-offs when they host Mildenhall tonight (7.30pm).

Victory will take the Roger Webster Lion Cubs back to the top of the table with two matches remaining, and with the chance to secure that position in Tuesday’s home clash with the Isle of Wight.

Saturday’s meeting with the Fen Tigers is also a significant one for their opponents as the visitors have been left in a tense three-way scrap for the final play-off place.

With Belle Vue and Kent set to join the Lion Cubs in the semi-finals, Mildenhall find themselves four points behind the Isle of Wight and Cradley, but with two matches in hand on both of those clubs.

The Fen Tigers looked in control of fourth place until recently but slipped to a surprise home defeat to Belle Vue last week and were then hammered at the National Speedway Stadium.

Former Mildenhall rider David Wallinger makes a guest appearance for the Lion Cubs in place of Dan Thompson, who is still out with a wrist injury, whilst rider-replacement again operates for Luke Ruddick.

Co-promoter Neil Machin said: “It was solid scoring from the team on Tuesday (against Cradley) on a superb racetrack, and hopefully the medics will give Dan clearance to race sooner rather than later.

“Mildenhall are one of the cornerstone clubs of the National League and (manager) Malcolm Vasey knows more about the league and its history than anyone. He will extract every point possible from his team tonight.

“A hectic schedule is in prospect with both the Lions and the Lion Cubs prolific, and the Lion Cubs are also almost in the Knockout Cup Final.”

The Fen Tigers have Jack Smith standing in for Jason Edwards, who is racing for Championship club Eastbourne, whilst Charlie Brooks is also ruled out with wrist damage.

LEICESTER: Ellis Perks, David Wallinger, Joe Thompson, Luke Ruddick R/R, Danyon Hume, Josh Embleton, Ryan Terry-Daley.
MILDENHALL: Ryan Kinsley, Matt Marson, Jack Smith, Charlie Brooks R/R, Henry Atkins, Arran Butcher, Elliot Kelly.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter