Saturday September 04, 2021
LEICESTER boss Stewart Dickson feels his side are building momentum at the right time as they face Glasgow at the Paul Chapman and Sons Arena tonight (7pm).

After a morale-boosting victory at Scunthorpe on Friday night the Watling JCB Lions return home looking to continue their good form with the race for the play-offs getting tight. The hosts are once again without Nick Morris through injury with Steve Worrall coming in as a guest.

Meanwhile, the Tigers head to the East Midlands looking to bounce back from a damaging defeat to League leaders Poole and they will also have former Leicester rider Jack Thomas as a guest.

Dickson said: “We now need to find consistency with some of the boys in the team as we have Glasgow tonight, Redcar on Friday and then Edinburgh. All of these sides are in the play-off picture and they’re the teams we need to be beating to secure our place in the top six.

“We’re still looking for that seven-man team that scores consistently and I’m not playing it down because it hasn’t happened yet. We’re building momentum at the right time and we had the same in 2019 so you see clubs peaking in May, June and July but we know you need to be at your best now and in October.

“We aren’t going to finish top of the table but I want us finishing as high up the league as we can. Glasgow started the season on fire who have levelled off a little bit but they’re still a very capable side. Our fans will be desperate for us to win this one as I’m sure the Glasgow fans will want them to win too so we should be in for a cracking meeting.

“The weather looks fair so hopefully we get a massive crowd with an entertaining meeting. Any sort of win will do to finish off a good couple of meetings for us. I know some of the other teams have made changes but I know if my team can ride like I know they can then we will be a match for anyone in the league.”

LEICESTER: Hans Andersen, Dan Thompson, Steve Worrall, Ryan Douglas, Kyle Howarth, Joe Thompson, Zaine Kennedy.

GLASGOW: Craig Cook, Broc Nicol, Tom Brennan, Sam Jensen, Ricky Wells, Jack Thomas, Connor Bailey.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter