Saturday September 04, 2021
LEICESTER strengthened their play-off hopes with a convincing 54-36 victory over Glasgow on Saturday night.

The visitors started well, though, with a 4-2 in the opening race, but the hosts showed their strength in the next heat with Joe Thompson going from fourth to first in fine style to complete the 5-1 alongside Zaine Kennedy.

And that lead was extended further in Heat 3 with guest Steve Worrall winning while Ryan Douglas finished in third for a 4-2.

Glasgow were full of fight, though as they cut the deficit to two points with another 4-2 in Heat 4.

Back-to-back Lions’ heat advantages extended their lead to eight points after six races which put the visitors in tactical substitute territory but they’ve decided not to use the opportunity at that stage of the meeting.

And by the halfway point the home side were 10 points up with races running out for Glasgow to cut the deficit

Back-to-back Lions race advantages in Heats 9 and 10 almost put the result beyond doubt, but Broc Nicol showed his class with his third win for Glasgow in the next race while Kyle Howarth got the better of Craig Cook to limit the visitors to a 4-2, with the score 40-26.

Leicester ended the visitors hopes of a win with another 4-2 and a shared heat in races 12 and 13 to complete a successful two meetings in two days with a seven-point haul.

Watling JCB Lions boss Stewart Dickson said: “It was a great performance and I don’t think the result flattered us in any way. It was a good solid team performance securing three points and we sent one of our rivals for a play-off spot up the road empty handed.

“We didn’t start off strongly but we soon came into our own and the track rode pretty well. All in all it was a good performance and I was pleased for the Thompson twins after a tough meeting at Scunthorpe on Friday.”

LEICESTER 54: Steve Worrall 12, Hans Andersen 10, Kyle Howarth 9+2, Ryan Douglas 9+1, Joe Thompson 7, Dan Thompson 4+2, Zaine Kennedy 3+1.

GLASGOW 36: Craig Cook 10, Broc Nicol 9, Tom Brennan 6, Ricky Wells 5, Sam Jensen 4, Connor Bailey 2, Jack Thomas 0.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter