Wednesday December 15, 2021
LEICESTER Speedway will once again have National Development League racing in 2022 as part of a busy year ahead.

The Lion Cubs, who have enjoyed fine support from Roger Webster in recent seasons, will be part of an eight team competition with Oxford and Plymouth increasing numbers.

Club co-promoter Stewart Dickson said: "We very much support the National Development League and the short to long term plans the owners and myself discussed in 2019 are beginning to bear fruit.

"Dave Howard (Cubs manager) and myself have been very active in building a team which we hope will bring the NDL title back to Leicester.

"However, we must also recognise it is all about bringing through younger riders and giving them competitive experience."

The team building points limit has been raised to 40 for 2022 and Leicester will face Berwick in the Knockout Cup.

Play-offs will also return after missing last year with a shortened season.

2022 NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT LEAGUE: Armadale, Belle Vue, Berwick, Leicester, Kent (at Iwade), Mildenhall, Oxford, Plymouth.

PLAY-OFFS: Semi-finals – 1st v 4th, 2nd v 3rd.

NDL KO CUP: Preliminary round: Mildenhall v Kent; Semi-finals: Leicester v Berwick, Mildenhall/Kent v Oxford.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter