Friday May 20, 2022
LEICESTER look to make it two home wins out of two when they host reigning champions Mildenhall in the National Development League on Saturday (7pm).

The Lion Cubs were impressive against Belle Vue last week, running up a 59-31 win in front of a good crowd at the Paul Chapman & Sons Arena, but they then slipped to a 40-50 defeat at Kent where youngster Max Perry was injured.

Kai Ward, who rode for the Cubs throughout 2021, has been drafted back into the side as Perry’s replacement whilst he recovers from a broken collarbone.

The Fen Tigers have had injury issues of their own early in the season with Ryan Kinsley and Sam Bebee both hurt in a Heat 1 spill during last week’s abandoned home clash with Plymouth.

Both riders miss Saturday’s match and although Bebee’s absence is not long-term, Kinsley faces six weeks on the sidelines with, like Perry, collarbone damage.

With that in mind, the Fen Tigers have drafted in an injury replacement of their own in James Shanes, who makes a return to the NDL for the first time in four years.

Shanes is set to form a strong spearhead with No.1 and new captain Jason Edwards, with former Kent man Alex Spooner completing the top three – whilst Jack Kingston has made a successful return to the sport this season after around six years out.

Cubs boss Dave Howard said: “Last Saturday was strong start to the season at home, and then at Kent despite Max’s injury the team battled for every place.

“Mildenhall will be another challenging meeting with Jason Edwards leading the Fen Tigers, and Kai returns to our line-up whilst Max is sidelined.

“With the support of the Leicester fans we will be looking for those league points once again.”

There will be another autograph and photograph session pre-meeting, with Thompson twins Dan and Joe, along with Connor Coles, available to meet the supporters at the main stadium entrance between 6.15-6.30pm.

LEICESTER: Dan Thompson, Mickie Simpson, Connor Coles, Tom Spencer, Joe Thompson, Kai Ward, Vinnie Foord.
MILDENHALL: Jason Edwards, Sam Bebee, Jack Kingston, Alex Spooner, James Shanes, Josh Warren, Luke Muff.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter