Thursday January 12, 2023
LEICESTER’S new No.1 Max Fricke completed the Australian Championship series on the rostrum in third place.

Fricke had recorded a hat-trick of title wins in the previous three staging of the event, but it was bronze on this occasion as Jack Holder took the honours with Jason Doyle second.

The Watling JCB Lions man lost ground on the leaders when he was eliminated in the semi-finals in Round 3 at Kurri Kurri, and a high-scoring display in the North Brisbane finale wasn’t enough to make up the difference.

Fricke scored 14 points from five qualifying rides in Round 4, dropping his only point to Chris Holder in Heat 19, before winning the semi-final and then finishing second in the Final to Jack Holder.

That was enough for the younger Holder to take the title, as his rival Doyle was eliminated in Fricke’s semi-final when he finished behind former Leicester man Ryan Douglas.

Meanwhile Justin Sedgmen finished the series in a strong seventh place, having reached one Final and two semi-finals along the way.

OVERALL TOP TEN: Jack Holder 63, Jason Doyle 61, Max Fricke 53, Rohan Tungate 51, Brady Kurtz 45, Josh Pickering 39, Justin Sedgmen 38, Chris Holder 37, Zach Cook 28, Zane Keleher 22.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter